UNESCO World Heritage for Tanzania

UNESCO World Heritage Sites represent some of the best natural, cultural and historic attractions in world travel. Below are details of the 7 cultural, natural and mixed sites inscribed for Tanzania to date (a red World Heritage symbol denotes a site currently regarded as endangered). For more details of these properties, click on the links to the UNESCO website and the photographic galleries of these sites from OurPlace (where available) or see our highlights of Tanzania for descriptions.

1979 - Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1981 - Serengeti National Park
1981 - Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani and Ruins of Songo Mnara
1982 - Selous Game Reserve
1987 - Kilimanjaro National Park
2000 - Stone Town of Zanzibar
2006 - Kondoa Rock-Art Sites

Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Serengeti National Park

Selous Game Reserve

Kilimanjaro National Park