UNESCO World Heritage for Sri Lanka

UNESCO World Heritage Sites represent some of the best natural, cultural and historic attractions in world travel. Below are details of the 8 cultural, natural and mixed sites inscribed for Sri Lanka to date (a red World Heritage symbol denotes a site currently regarded as endangered). For more details of these properties, click on the links to the UNESCO website and the photographic galleries of these sites from OurPlace (where available) or see our highlights of Sri Lanka for descriptions.

1982 - Sacred City of Anuradhapura
1982 - Ancient City of Sigiriya
1982 - Ancient City of Polonnaruwa
1988 - Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications
1988 - Sinharaja Forest Reserve
1988 - Sacred City of Kandy
1991 - Golden Temple of Dambulla
2010 - Central Highlands of Sri Lanka