UNESCO World Heritage for South Africa

UNESCO World Heritage Sites represent some of the best natural, cultural and historic attractions in world travel. Below are details of the 8 cultural, natural and mixed sites inscribed for South Africa to date (a red World Heritage symbol denotes a site currently regarded as endangered). For more details of these properties, click on the links to the UNESCO website and the photographic galleries of these sites from OurPlace (where available) or see our highlights of South Africa for descriptions.

1999 - iSimangaliso Wetland Park
1999 - Robben Island
1999 - Fossil Hominid Sites of Sterkfontein, Swartkrans, Kromdraai, and Environs
2000 - uKhahlamba / Drakensberg Park
2003 - Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape
2004 - Cape Floral Region Protected Areas
2005 - Vredefort Dome
2007 - Richtersveld Cultural and Botanical Landscape

Robben Island