UNESCO World Heritage for Greece

UNESCO World Heritage Sites represent some of the best natural, cultural and historic attractions in world travel. Below are details of the 18 cultural, natural and mixed sites inscribed for Greece to date (a red World Heritage symbol denotes a site currently regarded as endangered). For more details of these properties, click on the links to the UNESCO website and the photographic galleries of these sites from OurPlace (where available). Also, check out UNESCO's Intangible Cultural Heritage for Greece below.

1986 - Temple of Apollo Epicurius at Bassae
1987 - Archaeological Site of Delphi
1987 - Acropolis, Athens
1988 - Mount Athos
1988 - Meteora
1988 - Sanctuary of Asklepios at Epidaurus
1988 - Medieval City of Rhodes
1988 - Paleochristian and Byzantine Monuments of Thessalonika
1989 - Archaeological Site of Olympia
1989 - Archaeological Site of Mystras
1990 - Monasteries of Daphni, Hosios Loukas and Nea Moni of Chios
1990 - Delos
1992 - Pythagoreion and Heraion of Samos
1996 - Archaeological Site of Aigai (modern name Vergina)
1999 - Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John "the Theologian" and the Cave of the Apocalypse on the Island of Pátmos
1999 - Archaeological Sites of Mycenae and Tiryns
2007 - Old Town of Corfu
2016 - Archaeological Site of Philippi

Intangible Cultural Heritage

Recently UNESCO has begun to document the world's Intangible Cultural Heritage which includes "traditions or living expressions inherited from our ancestors and passed on to our descendants, such as oral traditions, performing arts, social practices, rituals, festive events, knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe or the knowledge and skills to produce traditional crafts". The current listings for Greece are shown below - click on the links for more details.

Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity

2010 - Mediterranean diet