UNESCO World Heritage for Chile

UNESCO World Heritage Sites represent some of the best natural, cultural and historic attractions in world travel. Below are details of the 6 cultural, natural and mixed sites inscribed for Chile to date (a red World Heritage symbol denotes a site currently regarded as endangered). For more details of these properties, click on the links to the UNESCO website and the photographic galleries of these sites from OurPlace (where available) or see our highlights of Chile for descriptions. Also, check out UNESCO's Intangible Cultural Heritage for Chile below.

1995 - Rapa Nui National Park
2000 - Churches of Chiloé
2003 - Historic Quarter of the Seaport City of Valparaíso
2005 - Humberstone and Santa Laura Saltpeter Works
2006 - Sewell Mining Town
2014 - Qhapaq Ñan, Andean Road System

Historic Quarter of the Seaport City of Valparaíso

Intangible Cultural Heritage

Recently UNESCO has begun to document the world's Intangible Cultural Heritage which includes "traditions or living expressions inherited from our ancestors and passed on to our descendants, such as oral traditions, performing arts, social practices, rituals, festive events, knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe or the knowledge and skills to produce traditional crafts". The current listings for Chile are shown below - click on the links for more details.

Programmes, projects and activities for the safeguarding of intangible cultural heritage considered to best reflect the principles and objectives of the Convention

2009 - Safeguarding intangible cultural heritage of Aymara communities in Bolivia, Chile and Peru